We are lawyers, defence counsel and criminal law management advisors. We specialise in white collar and fiscal criminal law. Private individuals, managers and companies trust in our experience and strengths.

Criminal proceedings can endanger social and economic existence. We are aware of our special responsibility in this situation. That is why we stand up for our clients in every procedural situation. We provide legally sound advice and point out realistic perspectives.

As a specialist law firm, we know what is important in business-related criminal proceedings. We are fast, personally accessible and flexible. Our expertise and experience are based on many years of work in well-known boutiques and large commercial law firms. We work at the highest level, efficiently and always in the client’s interest. We advise nationally, internationally and across borders. German and English are our natural working languages.

Persons

Areas of Practise

White Collar Law

Criminal law risks are playing an increasing role in all areas of economic life. We advise on all aspects of business-related criminal and administrative offences law. We help to act appropriately and purposefully. Charges regarding embezzlement and fraud, corruption and competition criminal law as well as insolvency, medical and pharmaceutical criminal law are our daily practice. We help offended persons and companies to recover their assets. We accompany and coordinate internal investigations to detect legal infringements. A selected network enables us to immediately involve experts from other fields or jurisdictions, if required. More information…

Tax Criminal Law

Misconduct in dealing with taxes, duties, levies and subsidies is under special observation of the authorities and is increasingly critically assessed. The tax offices are required to inform the tax investigation or the public prosecutor’s office as soon as they suspect an administrative or criminal offence. For this reason, tax audits, for example, often lead to the initiation of criminal tax proceedings. The increased motivation to investigate, closer international cooperation between authorities in Europe and strict rules on sentencing have led to specifically high personal risks in criminal tax law. We defend individuals, executives and tax advisors in proceedings regarding tax evasion, tax reduction, customs offences and subsidy fraud. We provide support in the legally compliant correction of tax errors and in the filing of voluntary disclosures. More information…

Medical and Pharmaceutical Criminal Law

Doctors, pharmacists, medical personnel, manufacturers and wholesalers of pharmaceuticals are exposed to increased criminal law risks. We are aware of these risks and develop solutions to exclude them. We advise our clients preventively and defend their interests in crisis situations. We regularly provide legal opinions on criminal law risks in the health care sector. Based on our expertise, we advise on legislative procedures and act as criminal law experts in associations.

Banking and Capital Markets Criminal Law

Our experience in advising banks, credit institutions and their executives is longstanding and comprehensive. It is based on our extensive knowledge of the sector. We represent supervisory boards, management boards, executives and employees of financial institutions in connection with allegations under banking and capital markets criminal law. We have particular experience in connection with investigations against banks and their executives concerning market manipulation, insider trading, embezzlement and tax offences.

Compliance and Criminal Due Diligence

We are specialists in the planning, development and implementation of compliance systems. We know the company perspective from our own experience – including the challenges. We focus on the development of rules and regulations (e.g. Code of Conduct, Code of Ethics) and the training of employees to avoid criminal law risks.

In connection with the sale or acquisition of companies (corporate transactions), we help to identify, realistically assess and avoid criminal risks at an early stage (criminal due diligence). We eliminate existing criminal law risks discreetly and always in the interest of our clients.

Environmental Criminal Law

Our advice on environmental criminal law includes preventive advice to avoid environmental misconduct (compliance) and the defence of individuals and companies in connection with infringements of environmental laws or standards. A major focus in this area is the defence of companies against allegations of administrative offences.

Anti-Corruption Law

In addition to advising on individual cases, one focus of our advice in the area of corruption criminal law is to provide training and to develop rules and regulations for the prevention of corruption (compliance guidelines). We also have extensive experience in defending against corruption allegations of all kinds, particularly in matters relating to foreign affairs. In addition, we regularly provide expert legal opinions in the area of corruption law on the relevance of economic facts under corruption law.

Ombudsman

We act as ombudsman for companies within the framework of their compliance systems, so that employees or outsiders (suppliers, customers, etc.) have competent contacts who are bound to secrecy vis-à-vis the company in the event of suspected criminal offences. Attorney Rettenmaier acts as ombudsman for Heidelberger Druckmaschinen AG, RSAG, the German Olympic Sports Confederation and the German Olympic team.

Publications

The firm’s attorneys are authors of numerous book contributions, essays and annotations to case law. Felix Rettenmaier was author of the criminal law department at C.H. Beck Verlag for several years; he is author of the jurisPraxisreport Compliance & Investigations. Dr. Markus Adick is co-editor of the handbook on fiscal criminal law published by C.F. Müller and co-author of the handbook on sales tax and criminal law. He is also a member of the advisory board of the Zeitschrift für Wirtschaftsstrafrecht und Haftung im Unternehmen (ZWH).

Show publications

References

Germany’s Best Lawyers

HANDELSBLATT counts our partner Dr. Markus Adick among the best lawyers for criminal tax law again in 2017. The rating is based on a survey of other commercial lawyers regarding the reputation of their competitors.

FOCUS

Every year, the news magazine FOCUS awards prizes to commercial law firms that have been recommended particularly frequently for certain areas of law. Both partners in commercial law firms and corporate lawyers are surveyed.

Best lawyers for white collar law

FOCUS counts our partner Felix Rettenmaier among the best lawyers for white collar law in 2017. The rating is based on a survey of other commercial lawyers regarding the reputation of their competitors.

JUVE GERMAN COMMERCIAL LAW FIRMS

The JUVE Handbook of Commercial Law Firms 2017/2018 ranks Rettenmaier and Adick among the renowned law firms in commercial and fiscal criminal law and acknowledges that the firm has quickly established itself in the criminal defense scene.

KANZLEIMONITOR

The KANZLEIMONITOR ranks us among the recommended law firms for the areas of commercial criminal law, criminal defense, administrative offences law and corporate criminal law. Furthermore, KANZLEIMONITOR leads our partner Felix Rettenmaier as one of the recommended lawyers for advising companies on criminal law issues.

TAX & LEGAL EXCELLENCE

Rettenmaier & Adick is member of Tax & Legal Excellence Network.

Wir sind Rechtsanwälte, Strafverteidiger und strafrechtliche Unternehmensberater. Unser Spezialgebiet ist das Wirtschafts- und Steuerstrafrecht. Auf unsere Erfahrung und Stärken vertrauen Privatpersonen, Führungskräfte und Unternehmen.

Verfahren im Strafrecht können die soziale und wirtschaftliche Existenz gefährden. Wir sind uns unserer besonderen Verantwortung in dieser Situation bewusst. Deshalb setzen wir uns für unsere Mandanten in jeder Verfahrenslage ein. Wir beraten juristisch fundiert und zeigen realistische Perspektiven auf.

Als spezialisierte Kanzlei wissen wir, worauf es in wirtschaftsnahen Strafverfahren ankommt. Wir sind schnell, persönlich erreichbar und flexibel. Unsere Fachkenntnis und Erfahrung beruht auf langjährigen Tätigkeiten in namhaften Boutiquen und großen Wirtschaftskanzleien. Wir arbeiten auf höchstem Niveau, effizient und immer im Sinne des Mandanten. Wir beraten national, international und grenzüberschreitend. Deutsch und Englisch sind unsere natürlichen Arbeitssprachen.

Personen

Rechtsgebiete

Wirtschaftsstrafrecht

In allen Bereichen des Wirtschaftslebens spielen strafrechtliche Risiken eine zunehmende Rolle. Wir beraten zu allen Aspekten des wirtschaftsnahen Straf- und Ordnungswidrigkeitenrechts. Wir helfen, angemessen und zielführend zu agieren. Sachverhalte aus dem Untreue- und Betrugsstrafrecht, dem Korruptions- und Wettbewerbsstrafrecht sowie dem Insolvenz-, Medizin- und Pharmastrafrecht sind unsere tägliche Praxis. Geschädigte Personen und Unternehmen unterstützen wir dabei, Vermögen zurück zu gewinnen. Wir begleiten und koordinieren unternehmensinterne Untersuchungen zur Aufdeckung von Rechtsverstößen. Ein ausgesuchtes Netzwerk versetzt uns in die Lage, bei Bedarf sofort Experten aus anderen Fachgebieten oder Rechtsordnungen einzubinden. Mehr Informationen…

Steuerstrafrecht

Verfehlungen im Umgang mit Steuern, Zöllen, Abgaben und Subventionen stehen unter besonderer Beobachtung der Behörden und werden zunehmend kritisch bewertet. Bereits bei dem Verdacht einer Ordnungswidrigkeit oder Straftat sind die Finanzämter gehalten, die Steuerfahndung oder die Staatsanwaltschaft zu informieren. Deshalb führen beispielsweise Betriebsprüfungen häufig zur Einleitung von Steuerstrafverfahren. Durch die gestiegene Ermittlungsbereitschaft, engere internationale Zusammenarbeit der Behörden in Europa und scharfe Regeln zur Strafzumessung, sind die persönlichen Risiken im Steuerstrafrecht inzwischen besonders hoch. Wir verteidigen Privatpersonen, Führungskräfte und steuerliche Berater in Verfahren wegen Steuerhinterziehung, Steuerverkürzung, Zolldelikten und Subventionsbetrug. Wir unterstützen bei der rechtssicheren Korrektur steuerlicher Fehler und bei der Erstattung von Selbstanzeigen. Mehr Informationen…

Arzt-, Medizin- und Pharmastrafrecht

Ärzte, Apotheker, medizinisches Personal sowie Hersteller und Großhändler von Arzneimitteln sind verschärften strafrechtlichen Risiken ausgesetzt. Wir kennen diese Risiken und entwickeln Lösungen zur Bewältigung. Unsere Mandanten beraten wir präventiv und verteidigen ihre Interessen in Krisensituationen. Wir erstatten regelmäßig Rechtsgutachten zu strafrechtlichen Risiken im Gesundheitswesen. Aufgrund unserer Fachkenntnisse sind wir Berater in Gesetzgebungsverfahren und als strafrechtliche Experten in Verbänden tätig.

Bank- und Kapitalmarktstrafrecht

Unsere Erfahrung bei der Beratung von Banken, Kreditinstituten und deren Führungskräften ist langjährig, umfassend und routiniert. Sie beruht auf unserer ausgeprägten Branchenkenntnis. Wir vertreten Aufsichtsräte, Vorstände, Führungskräfte und Mitarbeiter von Finanzinstituten im Zusammenhang mit Vorwürfen aus dem Bank- und Kapitalmarkstrafrecht. Besondere Erfahrung haben wir im Zusammenhang mit Verfahren wegen Marktmanipulation, Insiderhandel, Untreue durch Kreditvergabe und Beihilfe zu Steuerstraftaten von Bankkunden.

Compliance und Criminal Due Diligence

Wir sind Spezialisten bei der Planung, dem Aufbau und der Umsetzung von Compliance-Systemen. Die Sichtweise von Unternehmen kennen wir aus eigener Erfahrung – die Herausforderungen daraus für Unternehmen auch. Unserer Schwerpunkte sind die Entwicklung von Regelwerken (beispielsweise Code of Conduct, Verhaltensrichtlinien, Ethik-Codes) und die Schulung von Mitarbeitern zur Vermeidung strafrechtlicher Risiken.

Im Zusammenhang mit dem Verkauf oder Erwerb von Unternehmen (Unternehmens-Transaktionen) helfen wir, früh strafrechtliche Risiken zu erkennen, realistisch einzuschätzen und zu vermeiden (Criminal Due Diligence). Bestehende strafrechtliche Risiken beseitigen wir diskret und immer Interesse unserer Mandanten.

Umweltstrafrecht

Unsere umweltstrafrechtliche Beratung umfasst einerseits die präventive Beratung von Unternehmen jeder Größenordnung zur Vermeidung von Umweltstraftaten (Compliance), wie auch andererseits die Verteidigung von Einzelpersonen und Unternehmen im Zusammenhang mit der strafbaren bzw. bußgeldbewehrten Verletzung umweltschützender Normen. Ein Schwerpunkt in diesem Bereich ist die Verteidigung von Unternehmen gegen ordnungswidrigkeitenrechtliche Vorwürfe.

Korruptionsstrafrecht

Ein Schwerpunkt der Beratung im Bereich des Korruptionstrafrechts ist neben der Einzelfallberatung die Durchführung von Schulungen und die Entwicklung von Regelwerken zur Korruptionsprävention (Compliance-Richtlinien). Wir verfügen zudem über weitreichende Erfahrung in der Verteidigung gegen Korruptionsvorwürfe jeglicher Art, insbesondere auch bei Sachverhalten mit Auslandsbezug. Zudem erstatten wir auch im Bereich des Korruptionsstrafrechts regelmäßig rechtsgutachterliche Stellungnahmen zur korruptionstrafrechtlichen Relevanz wirtschaftlicher Sachverhalte.

Ombudsmann

Wir sind für Unternehmen im Rahmen von deren Compliance-Systemen als Ombudsmann bzw. Vertrauensanwalt tätig, damit Mitarbeitern oder Außenstehenden (Lieferanten, Kunden etc.) bei dem Verdacht von Straftaten kompetente Ansprechpartner zur Verfügung stehen, die gegenüber dem Unternehmen zur Verschwiegenheit verpflichtet sind. Rechtsanwalt Rettenmaier ist Ombudsmann der Heidelberger, Druckmaschinen AG, der RSAG, des Deutschen Olympischen Sportbundes und der deutschen Olympiamannschaft.

Heidelberg, Heidelberger Druckmaschinen

RSAG, kommunales Entsorgungsunternehmen im Rhein-Sieg-Kreis

Publikationen

Die Anwältinnen und Anwälte der Kanzlei sind Autoren zahlreicher Buchbeiträge, Aufsätze und Urteilsanmerkungen. Felix Rettenmaier war mehrere Jahre Autor des Fachdienstes Strafrecht im C.H. Beck Verlag; er ist Autor des jurisPraxisreport Compliance & Investigations. Dr. Markus Adick ist unter anderem Mitherausgeber des bei C.F. Müller erscheinenden Handbuchs Fiskalstrafrecht sowie Mitautor des Handbuchs Umsatzsteuer und Strafrecht. Ferner ist er Mitglied des Beirates der Zeitschrift für Wirtschaftsstrafrecht und Haftung im Unternehmen (ZWH).

Publikationen anzeigen

Referenzen

DEUTSCHLANDS BESTE ANWÄLTE 2017

Das HANDELSBLATT zählt unseren Partner Dr. Markus Adick auch im Jahr 2017 zu den besten Anwälten für Steuerstrafrecht. Das Rating beruht auf einer Befragung anderer Wirtschaftsanwälte nach der Reputation ihrer Wettbewerber.

TOP-WIRTSCHAFTSKANZLEI 2017

Das Nachrichtenmagazin FOCUS zeichnet jährlich Wirtschaftskanzleien aus, die für bestimmte Rechtsgebiete besonders häufig empfohlen wurden. Befragt werden sowohl Partner in Wirtschaftskanzleien als auch Unternehmensjuristen.

Beste Anwälte für Wirtschaftsstrafrecht

Der FOCUS zählt unseren Partner Felix Rettenmaier im Jahr 2017 zu den besten Anwälten für Wirtschaftsstrafrecht. Das Rating beruht auf einer Befragung anderer Wirtschaftsanwälte nach der Reputation ihrer Wettbewerber.

JUVE-HANDBUCH WIRTSCHAFTSKANZLEIEN

Das JUVE Handbuch Wirtschaftskanzleien 2017/2018 zählt Rettenmaier und Adick zu den renommierten Kanzleien im Wirtschafts- und Steuerstrafrecht und erkennt an, dass sich die Kanzlei rasch einen festen Platz in der strafrechtlichen Verteidigerszene erarbeitet hat.

KANZLEIMONITOR

Der KANZLEIMONITOR zählt uns zu den empfohlenen Kanzleien für die Bereiche Wirtschaftsstrafrecht, Strafverteidigung, Ordnungswidrigkeitenrecht und Unternehmensstrafrecht. Ferner führt der KANZLEIMONITOR unseren Partner Felix Rettenmaier als einen der mehrfach empfohlenen Rechtsanwälte für die Beratung von Unternehmen in strafrechtlichen Fragen.

TAX & LEGAL EXCELLENCE

Rettenmaier & Adick sind Mitglied des Tax & Legal Excellence Network.